How to write quality paid post – is going to start rating their pool of bloggers. As a paid post blogger for several companies, I must say that I welcome this step as it will spur me to put in a good effort to produce blog posts that I can be proud of.

Take heed of this:

In an effort to continually deliver quality reviews to our advertisers we will be implementing a new rating system to allow advertisers to give feedback on completed reviews.

This system will allow advertisers to mark their favorite bloggers as well as give feedback on reviews they dislike.

Though the tensions of being watched closely by advertisers are not nice feelings, I support this move because it will weed out crappy blogs made for paid posts.

Now here are some of the reasons why advertisers hate your blog. I am copying them from SponsoredReviews.

Here are some of the reasons advertisers may give for disliking a review:

* Poor Grammar or Spelling
* Did Not follow Requirements (Word Count, links, etc..)
* Showing a Price Higher on Site then what was Bid
* – This one will be used mostly by admins to mark bloggers who are showing lower prices on their blogs then what they are bidding in SponsoredReviews. Over-Priced based on Quality of post
* Duplicated Content
* Made Non-Factual Statements

I wish to point out one very big blunder a lot of bloggers made. I have seen people placing different prices for different paid post companies. For example, if my PPP Direct button says USD50, ReviewMe will show USD100 (because we only get 50%)  and I think    the maximum we should bid on SponsoredReviews is USD50 +35% .  I had posted a few times that we bloggers ought to have that integrity to quote about the same price for all companies and not to over charge  advertisers.

The other thing I notice is how bloggers themselves under pricing  their own blogs. I have seen PR5/10 blogs charging USD20 for a paid post. This is grossly under-priced! I would rather wait for that elusive USD100 opps to come along than to stuff my blog with five paid posts. Anyway, my PR5/10 blog is priced at USD128.

Remember, your blog is the golden goose. Just don’t stuff too much (paid posts) or it will die a premature death.

Post Author: lilian

9 thoughts on “How to write quality paid post –

    Log Home Jim

    (July 22, 2007 - 4:50 pm)

    This is a good step forward for SponsoredReviews. I’ve seen newly opened blogspot blogs with obvious misspellings for some reviews.

    Will pay-per-post and ReviewMe follow their lead… or do they already have a rating system in place?

    I’m new to the whole paid review thing. What is to stop someone from contacting the reviewer directly to negotiate a better price?… eliminate the middleman.

    Make Money Online Resource

    (July 22, 2007 - 11:25 pm)

    I haven’t visit your blog for a while and i see you have a new design here. Anyway, under price PPP is not only hurt the market price but sometime also hurt your PPP sales too.

    Underprice only work if you like to break into the market for a short period of time, and get people to get familiar with your service, this is same in the real world, people give free tryout for the first time. Well, it’s always easy to go down then go up:) So set high, go down slowly if there is no “sales”.


    (July 22, 2007 - 11:52 pm)

    I’ve yet to write any paid reviews for SR. Hope to receive one soon.


    (July 23, 2007 - 1:50 am)

    PG – Gud luck! Read my tips on how to attract advertisers.

    MMOR – Yeah, I think bloggers should maintain a certain standard. Linkworth has some useful tools there to price our blogs.

    LHJ – PayPerPost Direct is a good answer to get bloggers you like to do a review for you. And all the 3 companies do maintain a certain standard. Bloggers who do not measure up do get asked to improve their posts. And yeah, some bloggers were banned from writing altogether.


    (July 23, 2007 - 12:14 pm)

    Hi pal, not sure if you have done this, care to do this tag for this quiet reader here?

    […] Oh, and we also love her because she helps spread our news to other bloggers, including this article How To Write A Paid Post […]


    (July 28, 2007 - 10:21 pm)

    Good points! take note of them and wait for my first opp!


    (August 19, 2007 - 4:06 pm)

    I agree with them over most of their quality requirements (I’ve seen some really dreadful grammar and spelling on some sites) but I totally disagree with them over the pricing issue.

    Yes, it might seem crazy for a PR5 to do a $10 post, but what if it’s $10 for 50 words? That seems a reasonable rate to me.

    At the moment, I broadly run with price per word when I bid on SR or check out opportunities on PPP. On PR4 I go for roughly $10 per hundred words. Is that a reasonable level to charge? Well, perhaps it’s a little high because I don’t get a very high percentage of bids on SR. Snag is, there is no way to come up with a formula for pricing that’ll work all the time as all the advertisers are different.

    Whilst I know I’ll get most bids at $5 for, say, 100 words, I’ve also picked up bids at nearer $30 for that same 100 words for no good reason.

    I’m not even sure that they can realistically compare prices for that matter. SR works in a totally different way than PPP and blogsvertise and indeed ownsite accepted reviews so the prices of all those could well be substantially different. Not only that, but the value will vary considerably depending on the advertisers business segment.

    Take for example those on SR who are just trying to promote a mainly personal blog. They usually set the price at $5 for 50 words. I generally bid on these if they’re related to my own site on the basis that I’d have done a link exchange with them for free anyway.

    At the other extreme are some of the property sales sites which sometimes run from $20 to $500. Clearly they’re hoping to make a lot more from their site and therefore writeups of it are more valuable too. Regardless of your site PR a writeup will quite simply be worth more to them than it is to Joe Blogs promoting his own blog.

    Consider it from an advertisers viewpoint too. They can set a range of prices for bidding on SR in the knowledge that they’ll almost certainly pay less than the max. On PPP and the like they’ll have to pay a fixed amount but they could easily set that amount too high (and pay over the odds) or too low (and get no takeup from bloggers). On SR they’re more likely to get the “right” price.

    Finally, ownsite pricing will always be lower than it would be on SR/PPP/etc. They are major marketing channels so you would expect them to be able to attract higher prices than you could on your own.

    Take my own site: I have never had anyone take up a review directly from my own site. Does that mean that the $10 price is too high? No, it just means that no advertiser has, so far, came across my site and thought “hey, that site would be ideal”. I could price it at $1 or $100 and the result would have been the same.

    Amie Stilo

    (January 11, 2008 - 8:23 am)

    Thanks for the advice, I am learning more and more about this payed per post business. I agree that it should depend on how many words and the quality of the post as to how much money it costs.

Comments are closed.